American Auto Shield

3.28 out of 5

Avg. Deductible

$100


Effective

30 day(s)

Avg. Plan Length

3 to 5 years


Established In

2002

Company Location

Lakewood, CO


Complaint Resolution

No

How many vehicles would you like to protect?

About American Auto Shield

American Auto Shield Offers six plan options, including three powertrain plans for high-mileage vehicles. Coverage lengths and down payments vary. Covers cars, motorcycles and ATVs. Provides plans for cars with up to 250,000 miles

Review Composite Score

3.28/5    Very Good

Based on 30 Reviews

3.40 Customer Service
3.30 Repair Time
3.15 Quality
3.28 Overall Rating
Sarah M.

04/09/2021

Having american auto shield warranty on the family car makes me feel a lot more secure.

Susan M.

02/03/2021

They are the worst!,

Kaleb S.

01/11/2021

Tried to make a claim and there wanting 12mths of maintenance records and I've only had the policy for 3mths! That was not part of the agreement, the agreement was to keep records from date of purchase! Don't do it

Mr G.

12/02/2020

Of all the fly-by-night extended warranty companies i have had the displeasure to work with over the last 20 years, these folks are the worst, by a wide margin-stay away

Gerard V.

11/09/2020

I HAVE HAD MY CAR AT THE DEALERSHIP FOR OVER A MONTH AND THE AGENT KEEP COMPING UP WITH EXCUSES AS TO THEY WERE WAITING FOR THEIR 3RD PARTY TO GET IN TOUCH WITH THE DEALERSHIP. THIS WAS A BUNCH OF LIES, ONLY ON FRIDAY DID I DIND OUT THEAT DID NOT ATTEMPT TO CALL AND MY CAR HAS BEEN SITTING THERE. THE SERVICE PEOPE AT THE DEALERSHIP HAVE MADE MANY ATTEMPTS TO CONTACT THEM AND NOW AFTE A MOTH ODF PAYING FOR A CAN RENTAL, THEY CLAIM THTA THE DAMAGE TO THE ENGINE IS NOT COVERED. THIS IS A REAL SCAM AND GOING TO REPORT IT TO THE BETTER BUSINSESS BUREAU. THEY HAVE NOT COMPLAINED ABOUT HOW I HAVE NOT MISSED A PAYMENT FOR COVERAGE, BUT, ARE NT WILING TO CAST ME ASIDE.

Kent r.

10/27/2020

American auto shield cut my bill in half. Thanks so much for your help and saving me money

Bertha C.

10/12/2020

Not satisfied at all with this company, the first I heard that I was no rental reimbursement was this morning 10/10/20. Everyone else lead me on that I would be reimbursed.

Cindy N.

10/09/2020

A scam...would not pay the dealership for months..kept saying they needed an invoice which was sent many times...rhen when they FINALLY PAID they did not pay the entire bill..now the dealership will NOT honor this company, Dealership said I have to pay upfront for service and then collect from them....a SCAM!! Calling the BBB!!

Wayne F.

09/24/2020

Todd G.

09/09/2020

I got bumper to bumper warranty on my Buick regal for 1/2 the price my dealership was trying to charge me.

Bob K.

09/01/2020

Customer service is out of this world.and i recommend AA

Al N.

08/26/2020

They worked with my repair shop to cover all my repair cost

Kenneth H.

08/17/2020

STAY AWAY FROM THIS CROOKED COMPANY!!! I HAVE NEVER BEEN TREATED SO UNPROFESSIONAL IN MY ENTIRE LIFE!!! I BOUGHT A PLATINUM PLAN FOR $3550.00 WITH A ( WAITING PERIOD ) OF 30 DAYS AND 500 MILES BEFORE MY PLAN BECAME EFFECTIVE... WELL AFTER THE 30 DAYS AND 500 MILE WAITING PERIOD, MY PLAN WAS SUPPOSE TO BE ACTIVE... I TOOK MY CAR INTO HYUNDAI GENESIS SERVICE DEALER AND FOUND OUT MY AIR CONDITIONING COMPRESSOR WAS DEAD... I GAVE THE GENESIS SERVICE PEOPLE THE CARCHEX TOLL FREE CLAIMS DEPARTMENT PHONE NUMBER AND LEFT MY CAR THERE TO BE APPROVED BY THE CARCHEX CLAIMS DEPARTMENT... THE NEXT DAY I GET A TEXT FROM THE GENESIS SERVICE DEPARTMENT STATING THAT MY CLAIM HAD BEEN ( DECLINED ) DUE TO NOT MEETING THE ( WAITING PERIOD ) TIME FRAME!!! I IMMEDIATELY EMAILED MY CUSTOMER SERVICE REP, WHO BASICALLY TOLD ME VIA THE PHONE CALL CONVERSATION I WAS LYING ABOUT MY AC COMPRESSOR JUST FAILING... NEEDLESS TO SAY, THE CUSTOMER SERVICE REP ( TASHAUN STANFILL ) HUNG UP ON ME!!! I IMMEDIATELY STARTED EMAILING AND CALLING ANYONE FROM AMERICAN AUTO SHIELD AND CARCHEX... I GOT A PHONE CALL LATE IN THE EVENING FROM A GUY NAME JOE AT AMERICAN AUTO SHIELD, HE STATED HE WAS THE ( ADJUDICATOR ) ASSIGNED TO M CASE. I EXPLAINED TO HIM THAT I DID MEET MY ( WAITING PERIOD ) AND THAT TASHAUN STANFILL THE CARCHEX SALES REP WHO SOLD ME THE PLAN, STATED I HAD MET THE 30 DAY AND 500 MILE WAITING PERIOD... BUT HE TOLD ME MY AIR CONDITIONING COMPRESSOR WAS A PRE-EXISTING PROBLEM AND THEY WERE NOT GOING TO APPROVE THE CLAIM. AFTER GOING BACK AND FORTH WITH TASHAUN STANFILL, HE OFFERED TO GIVE ME MY 2 PAYMENTS BACK, I DECLINED AND STATED, I WANT MY CAR REPAIRED AS PROMISED UNDER CARCHEX WARRANTY PLAN... JOE SAID HE WAS SORRY FOR THE MIX UP THE NEXT MORNING WHEN HE CALLED AND STATED THAT SOMEONE FROM AMERICAN AUTO SHIELD OR CARCHEX WOULD BE CONTACTING THE GENESIS SERVICE DEPARTMENT WITH THE GO AHEAD TO FIX THE CAR... WELL I AM STILL WAITING AND MY CAR IS STILL AT THE SERVICE DEPARTMENT, WAITING ON TH CLAIM APPROVAL... TO ANYONE READING THIS REVIEW, FIRST LET ME WARN YOU, CARCHEX AND AMERICAN AUTO SHIELD HAS CONFLICTING INFORMATION REGARDING THE ( WAITING PERIOD ) ON THEIR PAPER WORK... ONE STATES 30 DAYS AND 500 MILES AN THE PAPER CONTRACT STATES 30 DAYS AND 1000 MILES OR 90 DAYS AND 200 MILES... NEEDLESS TO SAY, IF YOU HAVE A CLAIM, NO ONE ANSWERS THE PHONES, YOU WILL WAIT DAMN NEAR AN HOUR PER CALL AND THEN TOLD THIS CALL COULD NOT BE ANSWERED AND YOU CAN LEAVE A CALL BACK NUMBER... ONCE THEY HAVE YOU LOCKED INTO 30 DAYS OF THE CONTRACT, YOU WILL NOT HEAR FROM THEM!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! STAY AWAY FROM CARCHEX AND AMERICAN AUTO SHIELD!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! STAY AWAY FROM CARCHEX AND AMERICAN AUTO SHIELD!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! STAY AWAY FROM CARCHEX AND AMERICAN AUTO SHIELD!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Danial G.

08/17/2020

They are a scam. Radiator failed, tank cracked. Crack not covered. Refuse to define what is considered a covered radiator failure is. they messed up my records on mileage. Said my coverage lapsed, I had auto pay on both vehicles. Cancelled both policies and want my money back. looking for others that have filed complaints with BBB.

Lisa H.

08/17/2020

This company is amazing ! Almost every expensive repair is covered .

Keith V.

08/10/2020

I use this warranty company for my wife’s Subaru we bought the car used and thought it was a good idea . We had not used it yet but will post a review if i ever need to file a claim

Fred U.

08/03/2020

I like that it is a flat monthly price no games or haggling. I am happy with my plan and pricing .Very fair

Jean k.

07/30/2020

I called in to get more information and i had a lot of questions . the person i spoke to was extremely nice patient and had the answer to all my questions !

Ava M.

07/27/2020

Company takes to long to ok repair. Don't answer the phone. Holding for over 2 hours. Called and hung up on 15 times. Been here since 8:30 am it is now 1:15 pm and still no approval

Douglas P.

07/21/2020

This is probably the WORST policy you can buy. The customer service is HORRIBLE. There are some very nice people working there but their policies are incredibly ridiculous! You will wait a week before they even look at your car and then more days until they give approval. Just to add more frustration, when the work in finished on your car, they won't approve the payment and won't take calls!!! Unbelievable!!! Do yourself a favor and don't buy this insurance!!!! It will be the worst experience you ever had

Craig O.

07/10/2020

I called to get information and possibly set something up . The sales rep was very friendly and help answer all my questions .

Grace G.

07/02/2020

I had coverage for my Dodge Journey. My Ac died. It took them a few days but im happy to get it fixed thru my american auto shield warranty plan

Dorothy C.

07/01/2020

I'm a satisfied customer as long as I have a vehicle, it will be covered by American auto shield

franz w.

06/23/2020

my truck has been in dealer for over a month we cannot get a person on the phone on hold for more than a hr at a time with no one calling back or offering any help it a scam they take your money but do no repair please do NOT buy this plan its all a scam!!!!!!

Lea G.

06/16/2020

The best value i found . Talked to my dealership and they confirmed AAS was a good warranty provider. Thank you for your help and fair pricing !

Jason M.

05/27/2020

5 STARS

David C.

04/17/2020

They answer my questions promptly. Great customer service.

Steve M.

06/04/2019

American auto shield covered the repairs that were needed i had my shop call them and they took care of the rest

Andy W.

05/22/2019

GOOD COMPANY .I had a fast response thru email .

Harry L.

04/29/2019

I was relay impressed this company handled my claim quickly and professionally

Get Latest Updates on Reviewing, Researching & Investing in Car Warranties

Join our mailing list to get important updates, and information regarding exclusive promotions our partner companies may be offering. Don't miss out on flash sales, and incentives. This will help get you the best price for you auto warranty protection plan. Purchasing an auto warranty plan is the ultimate investment. By having the warranty you can make sure you wont have to deal with mis leading repair shops, and that your car will continue to come for many years to come.
-Car Warranty

Don't Miss Out